Friday, August 01, 2008
You should listen to your online friends. They often have great ideas, like in this case. I was recently turned onto a simple but effective alternative to bulky plastic cases and leather holsters for my new iPhone 3G. It's called the invisible SHIELD . The product, simply put, is pretty darned terrific. You hardly know it's there, and it protects like crazy. You can also get invisibleSHIELD for the iPhone first-generation device.

Now, let me tell you right up front that when it comes time to "install" the shield on your phone, you'll need a clean work surface, a little patience, 12 to 24 hours to let your shield "cure" on the phone,  and the ability to read and follow some simple instructions. If you make sure you have those few key things taken care of, all will go well.

In the video below I show and abuse my iPhone 3G (the only one I own...) with an Invisible Shield installed. In the video you can see that there are a couple scratches under the shield. Those came from a combination of iPhone and the keys in my pocket (before I ordered the invisibleSHIELD . In fact it was those exact scratches, which I got the first day I had the phone, that prompted me to find a real, working anti-scratching solution.



I can highly recommend the Invisible Shield.

Full disclosure: Zagg (the manufacturer of the invisibleSHIELD ) doesn't know I am doing this review. I found their product all on my own based on a real need, and clicking on the advertisement below takes you to my link on their product site - If you buy something there I'll get a small chunk of the change you spend. If you don't like that idea, no problem - just go to zagg.com and click through to the iPhone 3G page (or whatever product you want to cover and protect - For me, my MacBook Air is next).

invisibleSHIELD for iPhone 3G  



Add/Read: Comments [36]
Apple | Mobile | Tech
Friday, August 01, 2008 8:05:28 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
#  
Saturday, August 02, 2008 9:36:19 AM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
I've used these since my first ipod. Absolutely love em.
Saturday, August 02, 2008 10:35:03 AM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
WOW! Good looking product, I shall buy one for my iPhone as well! BTW, great video and you haven't changed a bit since I saw you last either!
Chris
Sunday, August 17, 2008 2:37:23 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
I bought Zagg InvisibleSheild for iPhone 3G from bestbuy (only the front portion coverage). I had lot of hopes in this product but struggled a lot to install the piece. Problem is, protector leaves some air bubbles which disturbs the screen view. I tried several times to install again following instructions available in the product and not successful.

Before I bought this, based on reviews I heard, I recommended to most of my friends. After experiencing all this, I will not recommend buying this for such a price.
John
Sunday, August 17, 2008 2:48:06 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
John - Sorry to hear your experience was less than ideal. Mine turned out great and everyone else I have spoken to also likes theirs. Personally, I found the front surface piece the easier one to apply in the full-coverage kit. It requires a very clean surface, free of dust and skin oil, lots of the application liquid (this is important), and the supplied squeegee-like thing. If you had a failed application, you might call or email Zagg and talk to them about a replacement. I've been told they're accommodating in that regard.

greg

Thursday, January 08, 2009 5:53:02 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
I got an iPhone 3G this past weekend and bought the Zagg protector for my front screen, and it was tricky to get it installed, but after the third attempt, and using lots of liquid, it went on perfectly. I am impressed, and I highly recommend it.
Friday, January 09, 2009 10:51:39 AM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
I've had the exact opposite result. I applied my shield, let it cure overnight (36 hours actually) and ended up with scratches from my key within a few days. After contacting their support they said that it's not uncommon to have to replace the shield often!! And then proceeded to tell me that I couldn't get a replacement because I was out of my 30-day warranty. I purchased on 12/9 and contacted them 12/30. I bought 3 shields and gave them as gifts, however, I'll be warning my friends and family to continue using their regular cases as the Zagg product does not cut it.
Nate
Friday, January 09, 2009 11:16:14 AM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
Nate - Sorry to hear your experience, I'm surprised. I now have two iPhone 3G's (one had a river-water-damage-related radio problem so I picked up another one for a special price). I don't have a shield on the new one yet, but I am careful to keep it away from the keys and stuff. In fact, I have also been very careful with the first one (the one that has the shield), since it's a protector, not impervious armor. I just don't see how you can get key scratches on the iPhone when the shield is in place. Or do you mean the shield itself was scratched? That would mean some pretty sharp keys. :)

Either way, I rely on the shield to protect it on the rare occasion I pull a boneheaded move and put it in the same pocket as something sharp like keys. I don't use it as a way to no longer have to worry about it at all.

My experience with the shield has been positive. The only minor complaint I have is that it has very slightly discolored over time, taking on a slight tint. No big deal. It definitely makes the phone a lot less slippy, which is nice in the car, especially in combination with one of those sticky pads you can use for iPods and whatnot.
Friday, January 09, 2009 11:20:18 AM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
Braden - I've also found you have to use a fairly large quantity of the liquid. It's hard to use too much. But make sure you don't flood the headphone and sync cable jacks with the liquid, since that is where the little test dots are that reacts to water, which they check when servicing the iPhone in the Apple Store. If either of those has been "tripped" by wetness, the warranty won't apply. They say you have to get it really wet for a while for it to activate, though. In my case it was tripped by river water and being inside a leaky zip lock bag on a jet ski (yeah I know, dumb heh).
Tuesday, January 20, 2009 2:39:53 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
Not as easy to apply as you are led to believe after reading package insert and watching video (I did both, and more than once). My husband and I bought one for each of our new iPhones. Couldn't get a smooth surface after application. Screen looks bubbly and wavy. I'm fairly talented, but couldn't master this. Definitely would not recommend. Actually would like to take it off and use something else.
Linda O'Hara
Tuesday, January 27, 2009 12:34:03 AM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
I've just installed Invisible Shield on my new iPod Classic and, much the same as Greg, I had already gathered a few scratches.

My main use for the iPod is to hold all my music collection, in the house. I don't plan on taking it out, unless I go away for a while.

So, what I really needed was something which would allow for a lot of movement between my docking station and my P.C. plus the odd listen through the headphones, without it being scratched everytime I moved it!

I've tried a number of cases which claim to be OK for docking, but I was never really happy with them.

This product is something else.

Like others I was dreading the installation, given some of the horror stories you hear on the net.

But, I took the plunge and just got on with it and found that it was nowhere near as tricky as I thought it would be.

I had to try the back about 3 times before I got it right and aligning the click whell bits was tricky.

However, within about 20 minutes, it was all on and looking fabulous!

Yep, there were bubbles still, particularly one very large one floating at the edge of the screen and I was worried they'd never go.

However, I've had this experience with single screen protectors before.

The worst thing for me was having to leave it alone to "cure" for 12 hours..

I kept wanting to pick it up!

However, I got up this a.m. and it's fine and dandy, the bubbles even the large one are starting to dissipate and I think I've finally found the solution the all my problems!

:O)

However, time will tell.

It feels great in the hand, no difference from the "naked," iPod itself.

So, here's hoping.

I'd recommend this product and don't be put off by the "difficult" application stories..

A little patience and it's a relative breeze!

Rich.
Rich Trotman
Tuesday, January 27, 2009 7:42:46 AM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
I can tell everyone with great confidence that if you're having a hard time getting the shield positioned and the bubbles squeezed out with the provided squeegee-like blade, you are not using enough of the "juice." Be sure to wet the shield material as well as the device you're covering. Of course, be careful not to flood any openings in the device with liquid, that's just good common sense.

Needing more of the liquid/juice is almost always the reason people get frustrated when applying the shield, in my experience.
Thursday, January 29, 2009 2:37:04 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
I recall specific instructions that the "device" NOT be sprayed with the liquid and, in fact, just re-read this instruction on the Zagg website. In any event, hope all who use this product are more successful than I. Does anyone know how to remove it?
Linda O'Hara
Wednesday, February 25, 2009 8:37:54 AM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
I have installed the Zagg invisible shield yesterday(full body) on my Blackberry Pearl Flip phone and the result was disappointing. There are many bubbles and some strange patches appeared when i used the squeezee to remove some of the bubbles specially on the film which was on my screen. I used reasonable amounts of the liquid on the film and not the device, don't know how much is good enough...should i empty the whole spray bottle?
Bottomline- Although this film looks like it's going to do a good job at protecting my Pearl from scratches, it completely destroys the good looks of the device. I am going to wait for a few more days to see if things change as advised by Zagg and if nothing happens i am returning this for a full refund.
Ron
Thursday, February 26, 2009 4:43:13 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
Stopped in at the local Apple store for help in removing the Zagg shield. The fellow just took hold of one of the corners and peeled it off. He then applied a bit of cleaner and it was as good as new. He showed me the Apple shield he had applied to his iPhone and it was first class. The Apple shield isn't as thick as the Zagg shield, and I get a much better touch on the screen of my iPhone. The Apple man even offered to apply it to my iPhone for me. Having had an unpleasant experience with installing the Zagg shield, I readily agreed to let him do it. It was quick and easy and the shield looks professional, instead of a sloppy mess.

Linda O'Hara
Monday, March 02, 2009 11:24:25 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
I installed the Zagg shield on the front of my iPod Touch with no trouble at all. Having heard about it here and read the posts, I used plenty of the liquid on my fingers, and plenty on both sides of the shield. All-in-all it took me less than 10 minutes to get the front shield installed and I don't see any bubbles, bumps, or discoloration.

I did use fairly firm pressure with the squeege, and was careful to work from the center of the screen to the edges.

I did not buy the shield for the back of my iPod as that will be protected by my DLO HipCase.
Tuesday, March 24, 2009 11:42:01 AM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
I don't know what all the fuss is about. I just installed this screen on my Bberry Curve and while it doesn't look like it's just a "naked" screen, the few imperfections are a small price to pay for keeping your phone looking new.

I wasn't even going to install the "back" portion, but it was so easy I did it anyway, and the shiny Zagg screen makes the pink look even nicer!

I didn't do the sides (I have a "skin" to protect that part) so I can't attest to that, although the corners do look harder to do than the front and back.

Now I have to let it cure - but seems like a great product!
Alex
Sunday, May 10, 2009 5:58:32 AM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
Hi Greg, I also had excellent results using the Zagg Screen Shield on my uPRO GPS Golf device. I keep it in my pocket while I'm playing and it is in perfect conditon. What I use to keep it from discoloration is Plexus. It is a Plastic Cleaner, Protectant and Polish. I spay it about once ever month and no discoloration. It keeps it clean and new looking. Alan
Alan
Monday, June 15, 2009 5:18:27 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
Yea the invisible shield WORKS GREAT but u just have to have patience when installing it, and let it dry for 12-24 hours before using it so it can dry, I DIDNT LET IT DRY SO ON THE BACK I HAVE LIKE STAIN MARKS, but its all good I'm gonna get another pair with lifetime warranty because the front got damaged.
C. A. Romero <REMEMBER ME
Tuesday, July 07, 2009 2:42:09 AM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
The invisible shield is great but when I upgrades to a 3GS I found a cheaper alternative. Bestskinsever is awesome. It has more coverage and it's so much cheaper. No tools to put it on with though but I already had my old invisible shield contents. :)
Anon
Tuesday, August 04, 2009 1:45:04 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
I bought Zagg InvisibleSheild for iPhone 3G from zagg web siye. I tried several times to install again following instructions available in the product and not successful. Problem is, protector leaves some air bubbles which disturbs the screen view.

Before I bought this, based on reviews I heard, I recommended to most of my friends. After experiencing all this, I will not recommend buying this for such a price.
lotfi
Monday, August 17, 2009 9:21:51 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
i installed zagg on my iphone 3g i got last week. i'm the person who hates even a little tiny scracth on my device so wraped my phone with dust free or glasses cleaning kit every time to prevent scratchs. i thought about having a case for it but it gets too bulky no points of having super thin phone. so i looked around, search and do my homework and found out about zagg.
installing was.... i don't even think about it anymore.. it was very stressful. it took me an hr to had it on sucessfully for full body(i'm guessing since i don't see any bubbles all though i have little tiny dust got in at the bottom part of the frot thought i cleaned them all with dust free....). anyway, i am in cure processing period but do i really have to wait for full 12 hrs??? it's been 4 hr and 30 mins since i put em on.. can't i just turn the iphone on and use them???? man.. so hard to wait..
Skye H. Lee
Monday, August 17, 2009 9:24:33 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
btw, i used whole bottle of that spray that it came with and got the full body covers at bestbuy
Skye H. Lee
Thursday, September 03, 2009 8:46:56 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
Guys. The best way to intakl this is really sing he squeegee hard on the device. I did mine and couldn't wait 12 hours, so I used a haIr dryer.. It's perfect. No bubbles, all corners and edges.. Lol..
Friday, October 23, 2009 10:35:16 AM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
I had it installed at the kiosk at the mall from which it was purchased. BIG difference...even the employees told me the people who are most likely to be upset were the ones who tried to install it themselves. I also waited 24 hours to use the phone...leaving it under the ceiling fan when I went to work the next day. I figured that if I waited this long I could wait another day to use my iPhone.
superdome
Saturday, November 14, 2009 4:02:23 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
This seems to work well on cell phones, but watch out for laptops, the install Shield product that they sell for laprops only protects the outside of the laptop, NOT THE SCREEN! I am not sure who it is that wants to protect the outside of their laptop but does not care about the screen. They do not tell you this on their web site!! This makes their laptop product pretty worthless. You have to find another product to protect your laptop screen.
Tuesday, December 15, 2009 5:49:54 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
This invisible shield is the best
Tuesday, January 19, 2010 6:58:49 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
I don't care for the glossy surface and the high tack glue applied to the GPS. I understand the need for screen protection; my PDA has one.
Jon Davison
Thursday, January 28, 2010 7:53:34 AM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
Use a spray bottle with soap and water, make sure you get an even coat of soap and water on the adhesive side, if you place the shield on the device and you are unable to move it around easly please take the shield off and spray it again until it moves around easly.

A good way to get the liquid out so it doesnt leave bubbles is to use a credit card or the zagg lifetime warranty card, if after using those there is still bubbles wait a couple of days, push down the bubbles and they will go away.

Hope this helps.
chris
Wednesday, May 05, 2010 3:39:15 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
Hi, i'm thinking of getting the zaag for my phone. Where do i place the phone to cure after installation? is there a special do's and don't after installation?
Fred
Wednesday, May 05, 2010 3:48:35 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
@Fred - Put it someplace room temperature where you will be completely untempted to touch it. :) The worst thing you can do is mess with it once it's on the phone, and it needs to be not too hot or cold - so be sure the phone is powered off to avoid generating heat against the shield while it cures.
Thursday, May 06, 2010 4:10:26 AM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
Just had my zaag installed from the kiosk... laid it down on a clean flat surface when i got home. will wait 24hrs from install for curing. :)
Fred
Thursday, May 06, 2010 5:18:32 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
Is there a way to clean the zaag... i found some forums regarding how it's a dirt magnet and gets stains usually at the back.
Fred
Friday, July 02, 2010 2:01:01 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
I have to say, I'm glad I'm a review reader for everything cause I've decided to have the zagg kiosk guy put my invisible shield on after reading all the problems people are having doing it themselves. Can't afford to spend more money to fix what I really need but not sure I can do myself. My iPhone 4 is no longer slippery which helps with keeping it in your hands I do miss the smooth feel of the glass but, but I want it scratch free. I don't think it takes away the retina display looks, I compared my wife's ip4 with her not knowing which iPhone was who's. (no screen on her ip4 yet)
Christopher
Sunday, July 25, 2010 11:06:52 AM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
How can i get rid of streaks and stains on my zagg, caused by suntan oil...nothing i've used works..help.
Elvin Rolon
Sunday, July 25, 2010 12:37:12 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
Elvin - Replace it. Once it's stained, the best thing to do is just peel it off and start with a new one.
Saturday, July 31, 2010 7:00:22 PM (Pacific Standard Time, UTC-08:00)
I do not recommend wasting your money on this. First I struggled to get the paper cover off. This resulted in dropping it, so not sure of the final result was something on the film or the fact hat it is crud. I will go back to my old protector which held my wife's screen together after a fall from a vehicle.
Jeff
Name
E-mail
Home page

Comment (Some html is allowed: b, blockquote@cite, em, i, strike, strong, sub, sup, u) where the @ means "attribute." For example, you can use <a href="" title=""> or <blockquote cite="Scott">.  

Enter the code shown (prevents robots):

Live Comment Preview